14 February 2012
The MGA-CC General Membership meeting was called to order by President Ray Naramore at 2:35 p.m. in the restaurant area at the Cedar Creek Golf Club.
The Minutes of the January general membership meeting was accepted and approved.
Membership/Financial Report – Don Kasper reported that there are currently 106 paid members. The organization currently has a balance of $1,433.39. There are no outstanding bills to be paid. The financial report was accepted and approved.
Club report – President Naramore did not have anything from Mike D. to report.
Inter-Club Match Play -- Don Kasper reported that he is currently pursuing match play with local courses. If this cannot be accomplished, we have until the end of March to determine whether we want to enter the Carolina Golf Association and play the type of schedule that we played last year, with events being held at great distances from Aiken.
Par 3 Tournament -- Ken Sabol announced that the Par 3 Tournament is still accepting players. It is scheduled for Saturday February 18th with a 10:00 shotgun start. The last day for sign-ups is the 16th.
Golf Rules Seminar -- Don Kasper reported that the Carolina Golf Association is holding a golf rules seminar on March 6th at Woodside. Anyone that wishes to go must sign-up via the internet through the Carolina Golf Association web site.
Tournament Results – The tournament at Hollow Creek had 48 participants that braved the foggy conditions. Winners of the various flights were Paul Pecoraro, Jim Campbell, and Mike Wittkamp.
Up-coming Tournaments – The March tournament will be held at Pointe South, March 7th. This is a net handicap round. Flights will be set by handicap. All players will play from the senior tees. Cost will be $30. Entries are due by March 3rd.
The April tournament will be at Riverclub on April 25, at 9:30. Cost is $42.00.
New Business: President Naramore asked if there was any new business. None was offered.
Rules by Bill – Bill Robinson gave an excellent review of rules using a question and answer format for nine holes. The following is an overview of Bill’s presentation:
Hole 1 --
A player hits his tee shot into long rough. In preparation for his next stroke, he grounds his club directly behind the ball. The ball moves straight down into the long grass.
Did he address the ball? Yes (Addressing the Ball – definition)
Did the ball move? Yes (Move – definition)
Did the player cause the ball to move? Yes (18-2b)
Is there a penalty? Yes, 1 stroke (18-2b)
What must he do next? Replace the ball (18-2b)
What if he doesn’t correct his error? 2 stroke penalty (Rule 18 General Penalty, but the 1 stroke penalty for causing the ball to move goes away)
Hole 2 –
A player makes a stroke and his ball strikes the golf cart he is sharing with a fellow competitor. The ball comes to rest on the putting green one foot from the hole.
Is there a penalty? It depends if it was his equipment (Equipment - Note 2 - definition)
What if his fellow competitor was moving the cart at the time? No penalty (19-1)
Where must he play his next stroke? As it lies (19-1 or 19-4)
Hole 3 –
Player A’s ball lies on the fringe of the putting green and his fellow competitor B’s ball lies on the putting green 2 feet from and just past the hole. A third member of the group, Player C, requests B to mark his ball, believing it may assist A. Player A protests and tells Player B to leave his ball on the putting green until he has hit his shot. Player B refuses A’s request and marks and lifts his ball.
Did B act correctly? Yes. (16-1b and 22-1a)
Did C have any authority for his request? Yes (22-1b)
May B clean his ball? Yes (16-1b)
Hole 4 –
A player hits his tee shot from a point just in front of the tee markers. He goes forward to search for it and finds it out of bounds. He returns to the teeing ground, makes another stroke from a point just in front of the markers. That ball lands in the fairway. He makes three more strokes to hole out, proceeds to the 5th tee and puts a ball into play from there.
What was his score on hole #4? He had no score, as he had not put a ball into play.
What is the penalty for his play on that hole? He is disqualified. (11-4b), since he put the ball into play on the 5th tee and had never put the ball into play on the 4th hole.
Hole 5 –
A player’s ball is embedded in its own pitch mark in a closely mown area through the green. He takes relief under the embedded ball Rule, but before dropping the ball, he repairs the pitch mark.
What is the ruling? 2 stroke penalty (13-2)
May he clean his ball? Yes (21 and 25-2)
Hole 6 –
A player hits his tee shot into a water hazard.
What are his relief options?
1. Play it as it lies (13-1)
2. Stroke and distance (27-1)
3. Keep reference point between hole and spot where dropped, no limit to how far back
4. Two club-lengths from reference point, no nearer hole
5. Two club-lengths equidistant from hole on opposite margin.
Hole 7 –
A player’s second shot comes to rest on a cart path. He elects to take relief rather than play the ball from the cart path.
What is the status of the cart path? Immovable obstruction - definition
What is the penalty for taking relief? None (25-1b)
What procedure is recommended in the Rules of Golf for finding his Nearest Point of Relief? The player should use the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such a stroke. (Definition)
Hole 8 –
A player has marked his ball on the putting green. As he begins the process of replacing his ball, he accidentally drops the ball on the marker, and the marker moves two inches not closer to the hole.
Has he incurred a penalty? 1 stroke, because movement was not directly attributable to the specific act of replacing the ball. (20-1)
What must he do under the Rules? He must replace the marker. (20-1)
What if he doesn’t replace the marker? Two stroke penalty (20-1), but other penalty goes away.
Hole 9 –
Player A hits a 250-yard tee shot into the woods. Believing the ball might be lost outside a water hazard or out of bounds, he plays a provisional ball into the fairway. He and his fellow competitors go forward to search for his original ball. Just within 5 minutes Player B finds a ball in the woods in the area where A’s original ball was hit and asks A what ball he played. A says ProV1 #3, whereupon B says “Here it is”. A plays the ball into the fairway and lifts his provisional ball. As he prepares to hit his next shot he discovers that the ball he has played from the woods is not his.
How must A proceed? He must play the provisional ball.
What does he lie? Six (original (1) + provisional (1) + lost ball (1), wrong ball (2), moved ball (1)
Bill also had many photos to embellish the above presentation. As always, everyone enjoyed Bill’s presentation and learned things they were not familiar with about the game of golf.
President Naramore asked if there were any other questions or comments. None were offered.
Meeting was adjourned at 4:50 pm.
Jim Wilson - Secretary